What South Africans Should Know About Their Nigerian Origins

Spread the love

South African tribes can be divided into four main Bantu groups. The first one being the Northern and Southern Nguni people which are the Swazi,Zulus, Northern Ndebele and the Hlubi people. The second group is the Shangana who are the Tsonga. The third group is composed of the Tswana, Basotho, Northern Sotho, Balobedu, Bapedi, Mapulana and Batwsana. The fourth group of Bantu people in South Africa is mafe up of the Vhavhenda and Vhalemba. All these Bantu people originated from West Africa and moved downwards on the continent of Africa.

Black South Africans were at times officially called “Bantus” by the apartheid regime. The term “Bantu” is considered pejorative in South Africa which might explain the gap in understanding of Bantu expansion in South Africa. The Bantu first originated around the Benue- Cross rivers area in southeastern Nigeria and spread over Africa to the central parts of Africa. After approximately one thousand years later they began a more rapid second phase of expansion beyond the forests into southern and eastern Africa.

Before Africans attack each other, they must understand there is more power in unity of purpose because only colonialism created division among Africans……See More

Read similar stories

Check Out 5 Must-see Attractions In Abeokuta (Besides Olumo Rock)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.